(Click images to enlarge)
BUSINESS FOR SALE
Nestled on the fringe of the picturesque town of Picton, hub of the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and gateway to the South Island, the Crow Tavern is a home-away-from-home for the residents of Picton and tourists alike.
Located on the Town Square, the Crow is the only tavern in town and is surrounded by a residential area. The tavern is very much a local’s pub with a Social Club, Fishing Club and two competitive pool teams.
The current owner is ready to retire and is seeking a motivated new owner/owners who share the same passion and vision to purchase the business and continue to grow this successful and popular tavern. If needed, the supportive owner is willing to assist the new operators in the change-over.
The tavern has multiple income streams including the main bar, main kitchen & restaurant (seats 30 pax), pool room (2x pool tables), pokie room (9x machines) and two furnished flats. Also included in the set-up is a dance floor, outside smoking area, garden area, 4x toilets, storerooms, administration office and wash house. Total area approx. 6,000 square feet.
The facility also comprises a large car park which is a recognized NZMCA motorhome park, resulting in a steady flow of park-over guests that like to dine in while staying onsite.
Many of the buildings assets have recently been refurbished including office, toilets, bar area, kitchen structure and lighting.
History of the Crow Tavern
Originally built in 1863 by Henry Bonnington and named The Rifleman, the business had its first ownership change in 1870 when it was sold to William Clark. Sadly, the property burnt to the ground two years later, the unfortunate event became the catalyst to form the voluntary fire brigade in Picton.
William Clark rebuilt and sold to Richard Nicols in 1873 who changed the name to the Clarendon Hotel. Richard Nicols received the same fate when in 1881 the building again burnt to the ground. He sold the land and moved on.
Josiah Harris purchased the land and had the hotel rebuilt retaining the Clarendon name. Eventually the Dwan Brothers (Brokers from Wellington) purchased the freehold in 1900 and held the ownerships papers till 1939.
Ian Bing purchased the freehold in 1951 knowing it was about to be condemned by the council due to extensive bora. Bing had the mind set to rebuild the hotel as it stands today (Ian Bing was the only known Chinese publican of that era).
It was in 1974 under the ownership of Terry McCashin who changed the name to Crow Tavern, as he converted the hotel into a tavern. The folklore of the Crow name goes back to the early 1940’s when a local named Peter Brunette would drink at the hotel every night and cycle home after his 6 o’clock swirl and crow like a rooster.
Are you the right owner to carry on this impressive history?
Details of financial accounts are confidential and will only be available on completion of a confidentiality agreement to genuine parties.
Landlord will negotiate a new lease for the premises with the successful buyer.
The rewards are there.
Please submit expressions of interest with your CV to email@example.com Attn: Karen. Investors need not apply